The CORE Distinguished Service Award

Nominations for this award are now open - closing date 28th July 2023

The next prize will be be awarded at ACSW in 2024. 

The service award recognises Outstanding Service in the IT community.

Applications/Nominations close on July the 28th 2023, with the announcement to be made in October 2023. The recipient will be invited to receive their award at ACSW 2024.


Anyone who has worked in academia in the IT sector for the majority of the previous 10 years. (IT includes the broad field of computing, including Information Technology, Computer Science, Information Systems, Software Engineering.)


Notable achievements, such as

. Public contributions to the IT community, in particular to CORE and/or ACS/ITP

. Breadth of contribution and success in academia

 Leadership in development of the field of IT in Australia &/or New Zealand

A successful candidate would have demonstrated excellence and commitment, and have a track record that is more diverse than just achievement in a particular academic field.


Nominations for the award is by submission to Alison Farr at CORE ( who will acknowledge the nomination and forward to the committee.   The nomination should consist of a statement up to 5 pages outlining the grounds on which the prize might be awarded.  

The 2023 Panel committee is:

Gill Dobbie (chair) University of Auckland, NZ

Stephen MacDonell University of Auckland and Otago, NZ

Mark Apperley Waikato, NZ

Chris Johnson Australian National University, AU

Lin Padgham RMIT, AU

Alistair Moffat Melbourne, AU

Please email nominations to Alison Farr at CORE ( by closing date 28th July 2023.

Details of the current award recipient can be found on our main awards page Awards and previous recipients can be found here