Past Award Recipients

CORE Prize Winners

John Hughes Distinguished Service Award (previously Distinguished Service Award)

Distinguished Service Award

CORE Teaching Award

    • 2021: Julia Prior, University of Technology Sydney - Citation

    • 2020: Andrew Luxton- Reilly, University of Auckland - Citation

    • 2019: No Award

    • 2018: Antonette Mendoza, University of Melbourne - Citation

    • 2017: Sven Venema, Griffith University - Citation

    • 2016: Geraldine Torrisi-Steele, Griffith University - Citation

    • 2014: Claudia Szabo, University of Adelaide

    • 2011: Warwick Irwin, University of Canterbury

    • 2010: Paul Denny, University of Auckland

    • 2008: Judy Kay, University of Sydney

    • 2007: Harald Søndergaard, University of Melbourne

Chris Wallace Research Excellence Award

    • 2021: Zhifeng Bao, RMIT University - Citation

    • 2020: Yuval Yarom, University of Adelaide - Citation

    • 2019: Wenjie Zhang, UNSW - Citation

    • 2018: Lexing Xie, Australian National University - Citation

    • 2017: Haris Aziz, Data61 and UNS - Citation

    • 2016: Helen Huang, University of Queensland - Citation

  • 2015: Rui Zhang, University of Melbourne

  • 2014: James Curran, University of Sydney

  • 2013: Sebastian Link, University of Auckland

  • 2012: Dr Michael Sheng, University of Adelaide

  • 2010: Dr Heng Tao Shen, University of Queensland

  • 2009: Andy Cockburn, University of Canterbury

  • 2008: Rajkumar Buyya, University of Melbourne

  • 2006: Dr Seok-Hee Hong, University of Sydney

  • 2005: Dr David Hawking, CSIRO

  • 2004: Dr Huaxiong Wang, Macquarie University

John Makepeace Bennett Award for Australasian Distinguished Doctoral Dissertation (with links to theses where available).

Prior to 2012, this award was known as the Australasian Distinguished Dissertation Award.

      • Joseph Troy Lizier “The local information dynamics of distributed computation in complex systems”, University of Sydney.

  • 2010 - Michael Cahill Serializable Isolation for Snapshot Databases, University of Sydney.

    • 2009 - Michael Hill Multi-Dimensional Numerical Integration Using Sequences of Embedded Lattices, La Trobe University.

    • 2008 - Bernard Pope A declarative debugger for Haskell, University of Melbourne. Supervisors Lee Nash and Harald Søndergaard.

    • 2008 - Michael Wybrow Using semi-automatic layout to improve the usability of diagramming software, Monash University.

    • 2007- Ajmal Mian Representations and Matching Techniques for 3D Free-Form Object and Face Recognition, University of Western Australia.

    • 2007 - Nicholas Geard Artificial Ontogenies: A Computational Model of the Control and Evolution of Development,University of Queensland.

    • 2006- Kwong Yuen Lai Caching Techniques for Mobile Computing in Wireless Environments, RMIT University. Supervisors, Zahir Tari and Peter Bertok.

    • 2005 - Caroline Linda Allinson Legislative and Security Requirements of Audit Material for Evidentiary Purpose, Queensland University of Technology. Supervisor Bill Caelli.

    • 2005 - Shane Saunders Improved Shortest Path Algorithms for Nearly Acyclic Graphs”, University of Canterbury. Supervisor Tadao Takaoka.

    • 2004 - James Brusey, Learning Behaviours for Robot Soccer, RMIT. Supervisors Lin Padgham and Vic Ciesielski.

    • 2003 - Carsten Freidrich, Animation in Relational Information Visualization, University of Sydney. Supervisor Peter Eades.

    • 2002 - Einat Amitay, What lays in the layout: Using anchor-paragraph arrangements to extract descriptions of web documents, Macquarie University. Supervisors Michael Johnson, Cecile Paris.

    • 2002 - Tao Chen, Monash University, Supervisor Henry Wu.

    • 2001 - Wenny J. Rahayu, Object-relational Transformation Methodology, La Trobe University. Supervisors Elizabeth Chang, Tharam Dillon.

    • 2000 - Michael Kolling, The design of an object-oriented environment and language for teaching, University of Sydney. Supervisor John Rosenberg.

    • 1999 - Alan Roberts Routing on Trees Under the Matching Model. Supervisor Antonios Symvonis.

    • 1998 - Wendy Feng, Algorithms for Drawing Clustered Graphs, University of Newcastle. Supervisor Peter Eades.

    • 1997 - Mark Lauer, Designing Statistical Language Learners: Experiments on Noun Compounds, Macquarie University. Supervisors Michael Johnson, Robert Dale.

    • 1996 - Matthew Regan Delayed Viewport Mapping and priority Rendering forVirtual Reality Display System, Monash University and

    • 1996 - Roland Yap The Design, Programming Methodology and Implementation of CLP(R), Monash University.

    • 1995 - Mary-Anne Williams Transmutations of Knowledge Systems, University of Sydney.