The CORE Award for Outstanding Research

2023 Call for Nominations:

The CORE Award for Outstanding Research

CORE Australasia ( presents the annual Award for Outstanding Research. The award ceremony will take place at the 2023 Australasian Computer Science Week conference.

The award will be presented to an academic for post-PhD research undertaken within a university or research institution in Australia or New Zealand in the calendar years 2019-2022 inclusive. The program of research should constitute a notable contribution of particular significance to the field.

A presentation about the Award can be found at the following URL.

Previous award winners can be found at the following URL.

Nomination for the award is by submission to Alison Farr at CORE ( Alison will acknowledge receipt of the nomination by email, and pass on all nominations to the committee for consideration. Please let Alison know if you have not received an acknowledgment within a day or two.

The nomination must include a statement of no more than 500 words outlining the grounds for the nomination, and details such as a bibliography and referee reports as appropriate. The nomination should stress what the contribution of particular significance constitutes, along with appropriate evidence. Evidence may include referee reports for work published in first-rank journals or conferences, invited talks at major conferences, or other awards.

When preparing the nomination, please observe the following guidelines:

· Submit a single ZIP file to containing your nomination and supporting documentation in PDF format

· Summarise your nomination in 500 words or less

· Include the nominee’s CV

· Include evidence such as referee reports or other information

Please note the following restrictions:

· Anyone can make a nomination

· Self-nominations are possible

· Candidates must agree to being nominated

· Full Professors are not eligible

The closing date for nominations in 2022 is 29th July. A decision will be made in September with all nominees advised of the outcome in October. The winner will be invited to attend ACSW 2023 to receive the award.

The winner will be selected by the following committee:

  • Professor Helen Huang (Chair), The University of Queensland, Brisbane

  • Professor Annabelle McIver, Macquarie University, Sydney

  • Professor Geoff Webb, Monash University, Melbourne

  • Professor Mengjie Zhang. VUW, Wellington

  • Professor Wenjie Zhang, UNSW, Sydney

Nominations from institutions of the panel members will be referred to an additional panel member for assessment.

We look forward to receiving your nominations.

Special note: Volume 51(5) of the Computer Journal, published by Oxford University Press, features a Chris Wallace (1933-2004) memorial special issue. The issue can be found at the following URL.